Hewlett Packard (HP 530) due to snd-hda-intel making a click sound fixed


I had installed ubuntu in my uncle’s laptop hp 530. I had installed ubuntu 9.04 (jaunty jackalope) in the laptop. When I upgraded the distro into Karmic Koala, the audio started to make a clicking sound. So irritating and confusing. I tried to unload all the modules for sound first so tried:

rmmod snd*

then, tried to load each module independently, later to my notice only when the snd-hda-intel module was installed, the computer was going wooo.

So  I thought that there is a problem in the module. Strangely the sound was not coming when I was running rhythmbox or vlc or some sort of video or audio player. Thus I had to search the internet for remedy.

The solution is quite easy : you need to comment out the following line in /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf.

#options snd-hda-intel power_save=10 power_save_controller=N

I too found out that there were bug reporting of the same and a youtube video to demonstrate the problem. But I tried to search something else, I was looking for what is snd-hda-intel and why the hell is it needed when everyone is commenting it out. Actually, it is a module to control the HD Audio Controller, produced by intel. You will come across this, when you type the command lspci. This module is used to control the Intel audio bus, but is quite less thought about project. Thus, creation of some audio disturbances are of no interest to the community.

 

Reference:

Youtube video explaining the problem: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2_W8HrRwep4
A Bug in Launchpad: https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/linux/+bug/381201

Posted via web from Linux fanatic